

Working in Partnership



Planning Applications Committee

Minutes of the meeting held in the Council Chamber, County Hall, St Anne's Crescent, Lewes, East Sussex, BN7 1UE, on 28 August 2019 at 5.00pm

Present:

Councillor Sharon Davy (Chair)

Councillors Steve Saunders (Deputy-Chair), Lynda Duhigg, Tom Jones, Jim Lord, Sylvia Lord, Imogen Makepeace and Laurence O'Connor

Officers in attendance:

Andrew Hill (Senior Specialist Advisor, Planning)
Jennifer Norman (Committee Officer, Democratic Services)
Joanne Stone (Solicitor, Planning)

38 Minutes

The minutes of the meeting held on 7 August 2019 were submitted and approved, and the Chair was authorised to sign them as a correct record.

39 Apologies for absence/Declaration of substitute members

Apologies for absence had been received from Councillors Sean MacLeod and Nicola Papanicolaou. Councillor Jim Lord declared he was acting as substitute for Councillor Papanicolaou for the duration of the meeting.

40 Declarations of interest

There were none.

41 Petitions

There were none.

42 Written questions from councillors

There were none.

43 LW/19/0354 - 85 Western Road, Newick, East Sussex, BN8 4NX

Trevor J Gorard (Neighbour) and Ruth Long (Applicant) spoke for the proposal. Mr Gorard read a statement in support of the proposal on behalf of Anthony Cox (Neighbour) who was unable to attend the meeting.

Resolved:

That planning application LW/19/0354 for demolition of an existing bungalow and garage and construction of a pair of semi-detached 2 storey dwellings be approved, subject to the conditions set out in the report and the completion of the S106 Unilateral Undertaking to off-set the impact of the proposals on the Ashdown Forest Special Protection Area.

44 Date of next meeting

Resolved:

That the next meeting of the Planning Applications Committee that is scheduled to be held on Wednesday, 18 September 2019 in the Council Chamber, County Hall, St Anne's Crescent, Lewes, BN7 1UE, commencing at 5:00pm, be noted.

The meeting ended at 5.38pm.

Councillor Sharon Davy (Chair)